Cheverus Awards


In the bicentennial year of the Archdiocese of Boston (2008), Cardinal Séan O’Malley instituted the Cheverus Award medals.  These medals are now conferred upon selected recipients from throughout the Archdiocese annually at the Cathedral on or around the Solemnity of Christ the King.

The oval-shaped medal is made of sterling silver and bears the image of Bishop Jean-Louis Anne Magdelaine Lefebvre de Cheverus. On the reverse side is Bishop Cheverus’ coat of arms and episcopal motto “diligamus nos invicem” (let us love one another).

Bishop Cheverus was the founding Bishop of Boston and led the diocese from 1808 until his return to France in 1824. He died in 1836 as the archbishop of Bordeaux.

The medal recipients -- who include laypeople, religious and deacons -- are chosen for their service to the Church and God’s people.  Most recipients are nominated by their pastor, forwarded by their area vicar and approved by their regional bishop and Cardinal O’Malley.  Some recipients are personally selected by Cardinal O’Malley.

Each year, one third of the parishes of the archdiocese are asked to nominate a parishioner, therefore most parishes will have one honoree every three years.  The criteria given to pastors is that the nominee should be a lay person who has served the parish well over an extended period of time and has done so in a quiet, unassuming and, perhaps, unrecognized fashion.

The Regional Bishops each year are asked to nominate from their respective regions a religious and a deacon of similar qualifications to be honored with the Cheverus medal. The Central Ministries of the Archdiocese also make nominations from among religious, deacons and lay persons who serve on Archdiocesan committees or lead important ministries.
There is no limit to the number of family members and friends who join the honoree at the Cathedral. The presence of the pastor and a delegation of parishioners is warmly encouraged to help underline the appreciation and gratitude of the parish towards the honoree.


2013 Recipients (95) – November 24, 2013

Following are the 2013 Cheverus Award recipients:

Susan Abbott, St. Theresa of Avila, West Roxbury
Laura Albaladejo, St. Patick, Brockton
Josephine and Charles Anastasia, St. John Chrysostom, West Roxbury
Ruth Andrews, St. Katharine Drexel, Boston
Mother Teresa Benedicta, OCD, North Region
William Bibeau, St. John the Baptist, Haverhill
Madelyn Brown, The Catholic TV Network, Watertown (2012)
Judy Burton, St. Mary/St. Catherine of Siena, Charlestown
Jacquelyn Butterfield, St. Anne, Littleton
James Buxton, Holy Trinity, Lowell
John Carter, Sacred Heart, Waltham
Everett Casey, Sacred Heart, Middleborough
John Cheboryot and Mercy Anampiu, St. Michael, Lowell, Kenyan Apostolate
Antonio Jr. and Gracita Chiefe, St. Mary, Randolph, Filipino Apostolate
Deacon Charles Clough, West Region
William Corrigan, St. Anthony of Padua, Allston
Marileia Costa, St. Anthony of Padua, Everett, Brazilian Apostolate
Paul Daly, Sacred Heart, Quincy
Joan DeGuglielmo, St. Francis of Assisi, Cambridge
Sister Thomasita Delaney, RMS, Merrimack Region
Samuel E. DeMerit, St. Paul, Cambridge
Jose DePina, St. Peter, Dorchester
Barbara Devita, St. Thomas of Villanova, Wilmington
Linda Devoll, St. John the Evangelist, Canton
Rose DiMare, Immaculate Conception, Revere
Anne Doherty, St. Camillus, Arlington
M.J. Doherty, Archdiocese of Boston
Kevin Dolan, Sts. Martha and Mary, Lakeville
Thomas Dwyer, Esq., Archdiocese of Boston
Joanne Eagan, Sacred Heart, Lynn
Stephen Fair, St. Mary of the Assumption, Brookline
Walter Faria, St. Mary of the Nativity, Scituate
George and Linda Furtado, Immaculate Conception, Everett
Rosa Garcia, St. James, Haverhill
Deacon Alfred Geneus, St. John the Evangelist, Cambridge, Haitian Apostolate
Deacon Thomas Hanlon, South Region
Anne Hanning, St. Charles Borromeo, Waltham
John Hennigan, St. Denis, Westwood
Sister Magdalene Ikeda, PDDM, Regina Cleri, Boston, Japanese Apostolate
George Jackson, St. Francis of Assisi, Braintree
Marie Jutkiewicz, St. Tarcisius, Framingham
Sonete Kammer, St. Tarcisus, Framingham, Brazilian Apostolate
Anne B. Kelly, St. Francis de Sales, Charlestown
Mary Kiesinger, St. Dorothy, Wilmington
Richard Kimball, St. Cecilia, Boston
J. Timothy Looney, St. Joseph, Wakefield
Dr. Aloysius Lugira, St. Mary, Waltham, Ugandan Community (2012)
Eleanor Mackin, St. Mary, Lynn
Judie Mahan, St. Gerard Majella, Canton
Constance Malloy, Our Lady of Sorrows, Sharon
Deacon Leo Martin, St. John the Baptist, Peabody
Jeanne Masterman, St. Catherine of Alexandria, Westford
Janice Mathias, St. Mary, Billerica
Robert Matson, St. Joseph, Holbrook
Elinor McFarland, St. Ann by the Sea, Marshfield
Darice McIntire, Sacred Heart, Manchester
Altagracia Mena, St. Patrick, Lowell
Helen Monteiro, St. Patrick, Roxbury
Deacon Pablo Morel, North Region
Kevin Muldoon, Immaculate Conception, Weymouth
Sheila Murphy, St. Andrew, Billerica
Sylvia Murphy, St. Helen, Norwell
Joseph R. Nolan, St. Francis Chapel, Boston (Prudential Center)
Roberta Oles, St. Mary, Wrentham
John Ollquist, Holy Family, Dorchester
Lawrence and Sally O'Maley, St. John the Baptist, Essex
Sister Mary O'Rourke, CSJ, West Region
Eduardo Pascua, Holy Trinity, Quincy
Mary Peck, St. Margaret, Burlington
Michael Pietkiewicz, St. Stanislaus, Chelsea
Rita Pizzi, St. Blaise, Bellingham
Nancy Pouliot, Holy Family, Amesbury
Brother Thomas Puccio, CFX, North Region
Lucille Ratte, Star of the Sea, Salisbury
Pat Riley, St. Michael, North Andover
Martha Roberts, St. Malchy, Burlington
Sister Florita Rodman, CDP, South Region
Ellen Greene Romikitis, Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta, Dorchester
John Scanlon, Sacred Heart
Margaret Scollins, Our Lady of the Assumption, Marshfield
Patricia Shafto, St. Christine, Marshfield
Deacon Richard Siebert, Merrimack Region
Joan Silta, St. Pius Tenth, Milton
Stella Simione, St. John the Evangelist, Winthrop
Celia Sirois, Archdiocese of Boston
Marguerite Small, St. Mary of the Annunciation, Melrose
Jean Soucy, St. Mary Magdalen , Tyngsborough
Antonio and Delminda Sousa, Our Lady of Fatima, Peabody
Claudia Suarez, Madonna Queen Shrine, East Boston
M. Doris Thompson, St. John the Evangelist, East Bridgewater
Joseph Tuan Thong, St. Bernadette, Randolph, Vietnamese Apostolate
Paule Verdet, Sacred Heart, Newton
Judy Vivien, St. Mary of the Assumption, Hull
Ann C. White, St. Ann, Quincy
Magda E. Zabala, Holy Family, Dorchester


Cardinal Seán's Blog Presenting the Cheverus Awards, November 27, 2013

Pilot Article - Cheverus Medals to be awarded Nov. 24 

George Martell's photos on George Martell's photos at 

The Good Catholic Life: Cheverus Awards 

2013 Cheverus Awards Program #0631 for Friday, December 6, 2013 with Judy Haglof, Nancy White, Fr. John Ronaghan, Eleanor McFarland, Fr. John Carmichael, Doris Thompson, and Fr. Paul Ring