Divine Worship



Liturgical Commission Bylaws


SECTION 1: There will be five standing committees:

  1. The Executive Committee shall be comprised of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Commission, and the Director of the Office for Worship.  This committee shall set the agenda for the Commission meetings.  It makes any necessary decisions between meetings such as the need to call a meeting.
  2. Liturgical Music Committee
  3. Art and Environment Committee
  4. RCIA Committee
  5. Liturgy and Sacraments

SECTION 2: A member of the Commission will be the chair of each committee.  The committees’ membership will be appointed by the Director in consultation with the Commission and the approval of the Archdiocesan Secretary for Pastoral Services. The Archbishop, the Director, the Chairperson of the Commission and the Archdiocesan Secretary for Pastoral Services serve as ex-officio members of all committees and may attend any meeting of those committees.

SECTION 3: Each committee member shall serve for one year and the appointment is renewable.

SECTION 4: All recommendations by the committees must be submitted to the Commission for its recommendation to the Archbishop or Director.

SECTION 5: These standing committees will meet at least four times a year and as needed to address the issues presented to them by the Commission.  They shall be called by the Chair of the Committee or at the discretion of the Director.

SECTION 6: In conjunction with these committees either subcommittees, ad-hoc committees, or task forces may be formed as the need may arise.  The same rules for these bodies apply as found in Section 2, 3, 4 and 5 of Article IV.