Nov 24 - 98 to Receive Cheverus Award in Ceremony on Sunday*

BOSTON, MA — Cardinal Seán P. O’Malley, OFM Cap. will present 2010 Cheverus Awards to 98 laypersons, deacons and religious at 3 p.m. Sunday, November 28, at the Cathedral of The Holy Cross.
First presented in 2008 at the conclusion of the Archdiocese’s bicentennial, the annual award recognizes Catholics for their dedicated service to the Church.  Many recipients are nominated by their area vicar and approved by their regional bishop and then Cardinal O’Malley.  Some recipients are personally selected by Cardinal O’Malley.
The medal is named for the city’s first bishop, Jean-Louis Anne Magdelaine Lefebvre de Cheverus, who led the diocese from 1808 until his return to France in 1824. Bishop Cheverus died in 1836 as the archbishop of Bordeaux.
The Cheverus Award itself is a sterling silver medal that is oval-shaped, bearing a likeness of Bishop Cheverus based on the Gilbert Stuart portrait. On the reverse side is Bishop Cheverus’ coat of arms.
The Cheverus Awards are typically presented by Cardinal O’Malley on the Feast of Christ the King, the last Sunday in the Church’s liturgical year.  This year, since Cardinal O’Malley was in Rome for the elevation of new Cardinals on the Feast of Christ the King, the awards will be presented on the First Sunday of Advent.
“We are blessed by the energy, presence and commitment of so many faithful Catholics who support the work of the Church in the Archdiocese,” said Cardinal Seán.  “It gives me great joy to recognize our honorees this Sunday for their steadfast love for Christ and for helping to build up our local Church in so many important and mission driven ways.  I know that our priests appreciate the good work of these Cheverus Award recipients, as they are representative of the thousands of people performing good works of mercy throughout our Archdiocese.  We pray that their efforts inspire others to live out their faith on behalf of our parishes, schools and ministries in service to Christ.”
For more information on the Award and for a list of previous award recipients, please visit
Below is a list of those receiving the Cheverus Award in 2010:
2010 Cheverus Award Recipients
Mrs. Teresa Axten, Amesbury
Mr. Jose Barros, Dorchester
Mrs. Olivia Barros, Dorchester
Mr. Donald Beaulieu, Salisbury
Brother Bede Benn, CFX, Danvers
Deacon Richard Bilotta, Burlington
Ms. Mary S. Blackburn, Brighton
Mr. Robert Brady, Lakeville
Ms. Pauline Brennan, Peabody
Mr. Edward Cahill, Boston
Mr. Robert Carey, Needham
Mr. Michael Carney, Winthrop
Mr. Manuel (Peter) Castellanos, Newton Ctr.
Ms. Elaine Coelhodelirio, Brighton
Mr. Timothy J. Comeau, Haverhill
Bro. Kevin Courtney, F.M.S.I., Framingham
Ms. Leatrice Crivello, Arlington
Mr. Maurice Curran, Marshfield
Sister Anne D'Arcy, CSJ, West Roxbury
Mrs. Jeanette Diotalevi, Framingham
Ms. Maryanne Donahue, Bellingham
Mrs. Mary Donnelly, Scituate
Mrs. Suzanne Downing, Plymouth
Mrs. Mary-Helene Dutile, No. Billerica
Ms. Thelma Fearn, Boston
Ms. Susan Ferzoco, Millis
Mr. Neal Finnegan, Dedham
Ms. Mary Lou Flaherty, Dorchester
Mr. Edward Flynn, Medford
Mr. John R. Frassica, Waltham
Mr. Robert Gadbois, Winthrop
Mr. John Gantz, Wayland
Brother Charles J. Gilbert, Lowell
Ms. Carol Gill, Waltham
Mr. James Gillis, Hull
Mr. Edward Gilmore, Canton
Ms. Maria Lourdes Gomes, Dorchester
Sister Linda Greenwood, OSF, Lowell
Mrs. Peg Hicks, Westford
Ms. Mary Hogan, Dorchester
Mrs. Virginia Maria Hopgood, Brockton
Ms. Helen Iantosca, Cambridge
Mrs. Shirley Keegan, No. Andover
Mr. Kevin Kiley, Marshfield
Mrs. Mona Leary, Lexington
Mr. Ernest LeBlanc, Middleborough
Mr. Emile Lessard, Tyngsboro
Mrs. Pauline Lessard, Tyngsboro
Mr. Mark Lippolt, Boston
Ms. Joan Lochiatto, Burlington
Mrs. Liliana Lucas, Chelmsford
Ms. Ann Lundbohm, Revere
Ms. Mary Martell, Cambridge
Mrs. Eleanore McCann, Norwell
Sister Catherine Joseph McDonough, DC, Holbrook
Mr. Murray McInnis, Quincy
Mr. John S. McKenzie, Lowell
Mrs. Maureen McNiff, Chelmsford
Mrs. Fatima Medeiros, Lowell
Deacon John R. Menz, Quincy
Mr. Raymond Molling, Holbrook
Mrs. Nancy Moore, Marshfield
Mrs. Paula Morgan, Wayland
Mr. Richard Moriarty, Brookline
Ms. Maria Moscaritolo, Everett
Mrs. Carol Nadeau, Saugus
Ms. Merry Nordeen, Wakefield
Ms. Annette Osborn, Essex
Mr. James O'Sullivan, Westwood
Ms. Sarah Slattery Perello, Somerville
Sister Marie Pero, SND, Peabody
Mr. Peter Pistorino, Melrose
Mr. Edward Radovich, Hanover
Mrs. Joan Rae, Charlestown
Mr. Eugene Raux, No. Quincy
Mrs. Debra Jean Rhodes, Littleton
Mr. Robert Rooney, Charlestown
Deacon Peter An Ros, Lowell
Ms. Jennifer Roy, Roxbury
Mr. Alfred J. Saluti, Weymouth
Mrs. Ramonita Santiago, Lawrence
Mr. Henry Scagnoli, West Roxbury
Ms. Carole Anne Scott, Canton
Mr. William Scott, Chestnut Hill
Mr. John Shaughnessy, Sr., Milton
Miss Sheila Shea, Malden
Mrs. Elizabeth Small, Methuen
Mrs. Nancy Smith, East Bridgewater
Mrs. Joan Spano, Sharon
Mr. Richard Spinale, Arlington
Mr. Daniel Sullivan, Hyde Park
Mrs. F. Adelaide Sullivan, Canton
Sister Maureen Taaffe, SCN, West Roxbury
Deacon Carroll Taylor, No. Andover
Mr. Renato Te, Boston
Mr. Philip Walsh, Gloucester
Miss Ruth Wilkinson, Quincy
Miss Joan Ziegler, Weymouth
Mr. Joseph D’Arrigo, Boston* (2009 recipient being presented his award on 11/28/2010)